Blind Strike











{April 1, 2008}   The Seeing

the Seeing was preceded

by a feeling of about-to-see

before that, an image, a thought

of what might be.

light matter, which is wave and particle

streams out from the source and penetrates, is absorbed into permeable,

which is like receiving a promise

a tangible sign of God

The caring, equal treatment of this light

shows the kind of love we can expect

from the universe, not favored beings

the haves who deserve to have

the dead who deserved to die

but the love of regeneration winding

ever down to us from sun on high

winding and blasting through all canopies

in time

a few moments ago, when I was alone,

I saw light for what it really is, saw it

flinging with my bare eyes, and light was a river

composed of tiny, violent drops

orion2007 says:

Loved it..complicated yes…i will read it again and comment in more detail inshaAllah..

Thanks for sharing Erin..

take care and keep thinking
hugs
later days



orion2007 says:

Hi Erin

I read it again..beautiful mashaallah..I am having difficulty understanding this part…care to explain?

The caring, equal treatment of this light

shows the kind of love we can expect

from the universe, not favored beings [who are the beings that are not favoured?]

the haves who deserve to have [don’t get it? 🙂 ]

the dead who deserved to die

but the love of regeneration winding [love of regeneration–is this a metaphor?]

ever down to us from sun on high

Do answer my questions that are in brackets. I love to disect poetry until I comprehend it. 🙂



Erin says:

Hi! I don’t usually like to point to a meaning too directly when it’s my own poem, because when an author states a meaning, it so quickly becomes the definitive interpretation and robs the reader of the chance of finding their own meaning. So there’s only so far I’m willing to take an explanation, but here’s what I can do, because I think I see some of what’s potentially confusing about the language.

1st & 2nd question: With regards to favored beings, that clause relates back to the previous one about the kind of love we can expect from the universe. To clarify the syntax, the prose version might read “the kind of love we can expect from the universe is not the love of favored beings, who are also known as those who have and deserve to have.” The dead were not hated by God, in other words, and the prosperous are not favored by her.
3rd question: It’s meant as the possessive, like regeneration’s love. So it probably is a metaphor, but I think everything is a metaphor so that won’t narrow it down much. I guess it’s a personification of regeneration. Another way to say it would be “a love characterized by the principle of regeneration.” And light is working here as the agent of regeneration, constantly bombarding us with energy. But light and living are only part of how the universe loves us. There is also the dark.

Beyond this, I really couldn’t tell you what it means, and I’d rather ponder it quietly than try to make something up and tell you. Maybe you can tell me what it means to you, after you ponder it! That would make me very happy.

Just the attention you’ve given my poem makes me happy. Thank you so much!
Blessings and peace be upon you.



orion2007 says:

Hi Erin

I like your interpretation..What it said to me? Well, I will have to read it again, ponder over it and then write down a reply to you….

Attention to the poem….well poems are journeys into people’s minds, souls, perceptions and beliefs right. 🙂 Since, I like to jot down some poems myself (see my website for some samples), I do make some time to read poetry from different artists like you..its fun, I learn as a I read more…This piece was very well written and it deserved every inch of attention I gave inshaAllah. 🙂

hugs, keep writing and blessings sister
take care
Peace and Blessings



Leave a Reply

et cetera
